Landslide2008: Marvels of Modernism

Heritage Plaza

Heritage Park
Fort Worth, Texas

Designed by Lawrence Halprin

Embrace the Spirit and Preserve the Freedom which inspired those of Vision and Courage to Shape our Heritage
- Inscription on an interior water wall at Heritage Plaza

Texas is gifted with many celebrated public landscapes from the modern era including Philip Johnson’s Fort Worth Water Gardens (1974) and Thanks-Giving Square (1974); Daniel Kiley’s Fountain Place (1986) and Dallas Museum of Art (1983); and Peter Walker’s Nasher Sculpture Center Garden (2005). However, Heritage Plaza is the state’s only significant design by Presidential Medal of Arts recipient Lawrence Halprin, FASLA.

Located within Heritage Park and at the site of the city’s original settlement, Heritage Plaza which was designated on the Nation’s Bicentennial provides a physical link from the city’s downtown to the Trinity River and a symbolic link to the city’s heritage. Disconcertingly, the City of Fort Worth has ended water flow through the park’s features and cut off public access. Halprin’s design celebrated the pioneering vision of the city’s founders, a vision that needs to be resurrected in order to restore the glory of this nationally significant landscape. more...


List of Marvels

Boston City Hall Plaza
Boston, Massachusetts

Estates Drive Reservoir
Oakland, California

Heritage Plaza
Heritage Park
Fort Worth, Texas

Kaiser Roof Garden
Kaiser Center
Oakland, California

Lake Elizabeth
Allegheny Commons
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Manhattan Square Park
Rochester, New York

Mill Creek Canyon

Kent, Washington

Miller Garden
Columbus, Indiana

El Monte
Hato Rey, Puerto Rico

Pacific Science
Center Courtyard

Seattle, Washington

San Francisco, California

Peavey Plaza
Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis, Minnesota

education partners
Garden DesignGeorge Eastman House
Additional Sponsors

American Society of Landscape Architects’ Indiana, Pennsylvania/Delaware, Minnesota, Northern California, Texas, Upstate New York, and Washington Chapters • Astorino • Charles Butt • Design Within Reach • Topher Delaney • Sandy Donnell & Justin Faggioli • Fathom • Tom Fox • Hillman Foundation • Indianapolis Museum of Art • Lorraine Osmundson • Richard T. Murphy • National Trust for Historic Preservation’s Northeast, Southwest, and Western Offices- with funds from the Charles Evans Hughes Memorial Foundation of New York, Dodge Jones Foundation Intervention Fund, and Eastern Massachusetts Preservation Fund • James Richards • Seibert & Rice • Diana & Bruce Shuman • Ann Stack • SWA Group • TBG Partners • Michal and Jeffrey William Tincup • Unilock Inc. • The Woltz Charitable Trust