Established in 1789, this 729-acre state university was the first of its kind in the nation. In 1793, the cornerstone for Old East Hall was laid on 1,300 undulating acres of forested land in the state’s geographic center. Conceived as a village and known as McCorkle Place, the first structures were erected in a quadrangle enclosing a lawn dotted with mature deciduous trees. In 1818, professor Elisha Mitchell introduced diverse trees planted in rows, transforming the forest into more formalized grounds. The campus became more pastoral and expanded north during the mid-19th century, following a Picturesque plan by Alexander Jackson Davis from 1851.
Following the Civil War and Reconstruction, campus development shifted southward in a haphazard fashion. In 1919, John Nolen created a neoclassical, unified master plan that was never implemented. McKim, Mead and White’s Beaux Arts plan had more traction, producing a visually-cohesive, neoclassical quadrangle called Polk Place, designed by William Kendall and erected on axis with McCorkle Place, and minor quad on a perpendicular axis established with Manning Hall in 1923. The campus landscape was also influenced by botany professor William Chambers Coker, who promoted naturalistic garden rooms, created the Coker Arboretum in 1903, and designed a large boxwood-and-lawn parterre for the campus’s towering brick campanile in 1940. In 1918 Battle Park was given a rustic outdoor amphitheater, the Forest Theater.
Increased enrollment after World War II led to the campus tripling in size and a departure from Beaux-Arts design principles. Post-war planning has emphasized multiple campuses, stylistic eclecticism, and preservation.