Wayne Stiles arrived on the property in the spring of 1927 to discover a 31-year-old, 9-hole Pasture course where cows from the adjacent Dennison Farm occasionally intruded. The course, owned by Williams College, was open and rolling with stands of mature trees. Stiles spent considerable time on the property locating additional features. Thrifty by nature, he preferred to integrate elements of the original holes wherever possible. But having designed courses for a dozen years, he also wanted to install new and challenging features. The greens have bold undulations and slopes, varying in size, that are severe by modern standards. Bunkering was used throughout many holes, with fairway bunkers reachable off the tee, approach bunkers 50 to 100 yards out, and greenside bunkers and mounding that carried onto the putting surfaces. Many greens played to uphill shots, in effect adding length to the almost 6300-yard course. A recent restoration and renovation by Gil Hanse has removed some subsequently planted trees that intruded upon strategic aspects of many holes. Back tees were added to accommodate today’s top-level events, and fairway bunkers relocated accordingly to accommodate today’s long hitters. Most of Stiles' dramatic bunker complexes were restored, including one between the 8th and 11th greens, that although specified on Stiles’ plan, was not built at the time because of a large boulder.